Spring is in Savannah

Posted on March 17, 2011. Filed under: Food and Beverage, Newlywed | Tags: |

Finally, spring is in the air! I love it when the daffodils are blooming; the tulips are shooting up through the ground ready to bob in the breeze. The pollen is high and the days get longer! Adam and I are convinced that I am a victim of S.A.D. (that’s seasonal affective disorder). The lack of daylight and the cold weather depress me every year. With the recent influx of 70-degree days and sunshine, my mood is on an upswing.

This past weekend we decided to go to Savannah for a little break from the real world. It was such a nice vacation that was chock full of eating, drinking, shopping, and exploring. We ate at Vic’s on the River Friday night. It was one of the best meals we’ve ever had. We didn’t feel rushed; I think we savored our meal and conversation for over two hours. It was wonderful. After dinner, we went to the Bohemian Hotel’s rooftop bar and Savannah Smiles. It was ironically reminiscent of my Bachelorette Party, except less booze, no outrageous to-do list, and the whole married thing. I jest. I love being married! Along the way, I had a reality-star sighting: Marci from the Biggest Loser! No pictures, I didn’t want to be annoying. She looked fantastic and I told her so! I digress.In front of the bridge

Before our night out

Savannah was so beautiful. I’ve never been there in the spring before. The tulips were already in full bloom; the azaleas were starting to open up in all of the park squares; the fountains were full of green water in anticipation of Saint Patrick’s Day. The activities were slowly starting to pick up, but did not escalate to full St. Pattie’s binge-fest by the time we left – thank goodness (wow, I sound old and boring). Last week, I was so occupied making all of our reservations and trying to finish up some work before our trip that I forgot about the beginning of Daylight Savings Time. So I was pleasantly surprised when Adam told me Saturday night that we’ll need to spring forward. Actually, I thought he must be mistaken. How did I forget? I LOVE springing forward. Bye, bye S.A.D. and darkness. Hello warmer weather and sunshine!

Me in Forsyth Park

Adam in front of the fountain

 

Green Water in the Fountain

We brought Daylight Savings Time in with a bang, I must say. We attended mass at the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist Sunday morning simply because we wanted to go to mass and we wanted to see the Cathedral. What we didn’t realize is that it was the Celtic Cross Mass (the mass preceding St. Patrick’s Day). There were a lot of bagpipes, green jackets, familial banners and flag waving. There was a priest who began the mass in Gaelic; all of the hymns were of Irish origin. We love traveling places, even if it is in the same state, and experiencing something with the residents that is culturally unique to the area. Adam and I couldn’t believe our luck. When Mass ended, the church members gathered and marched parade-style to River Street where they held a prayer service to kick-off the festivities.

processional before Mass

the leader of the parade - I'm sure there's an official name

It was a great weekend. I think it made us realize that we need to make a habit to do new things and go different places. Since the vacation budget is limited while we squirrel away house money, we’re looking into doing some day trips in the coming months. If you’re in the Atlanta area, there are tons of places to go on a Saturday: the Zoo, Chateau Elan, Callaway Gardens, Serenbe, Stone Mountain, Lake Lanier.

And to cap off the fabulous weekend. This is what we saw on I-75 North heading into Atlanta.

Oh. I wish I were an Oscar Mayer Weiner! That is what I’d truly like to be. And if I were an Oscar Mayer Weiner, everyone would be in love with me!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Spring is in Savannah”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

[…] March – Adam and I took a mini-trip to Savannah and started looking for a […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

