Meredith, Meredith, quite contradith [sic], how does your garden grow?

Posted on May 16, 2011. Filed under: Gardening, Home |

Like my post of long, long ago, this one waxes on the beauty of spring, specifically spring plantings for a great summer garden. I would have posted some pictures of our tulips that started blooming the 3rd week of March, but I lost them – or I imagined that I took them. Oh well. Just picture lots of pink, yellow, and red tulips. They were pretty.

Unfortunately, the crocuses we planted already bloomed out by early March. I barely got to enjoy them. We expected to see some anemones, but I am suspicious that Mr. Squirrel and his posse of obese, bushy-tailed friends ate some of the tubers this winter. Or they stashed them in our attic which is another story altogether. Their crime disappoints me. I hope they left at least some of the anemones because I hear that they divide and multiply after blooming and if left alone will eventually give you a poppy field à la Wizard of Oz. I assure you, I like them for their looks, not their medicinal purposes. How did I detect the poppy embezzlement? There were little holes in our garden plot right where we planted the anemone tubers. I’m so smart.

Even though we are moving in a few months (more on that later), we decided that we wanted to embark on a summer garden anyway. Luckily, our apartment complex has garden plots that the residents can reserve and use with no additional cost. Since it seems as if warmer weather is here to stay until November or December, we started planning our garden about a month ago with the help of some online sources.

Our plot is not very big. I estimate it to measure about 10 x 5, but Adam always calls me out on my “measurements” so it’s probably not even close to that. We are limited for space, but I wanted to plant the following: peppers, tomatoes, our kitchen herbs, and green onions.

We went to Lowe’s instead of our local nursery, Hastings, to get the goods. No offense to Hastings, but the two words, down payment, are ever present in our minds. Lowe’s nursery is more friendly on the wallet. In addition to the above veggies, I picked up some mint and sage. I also got Zinnia and Sunflower seeds for my new green planter.

Then came the planting… We headed to the garden around 7:00pm on a Saturday night. Lo and behold, this is what greeted us. WEEDS!

A lot of weeds with a sprinkling of tulip leaves

Die weeds, Die!

We got down to business with the garden gloves, yanking and digging. Then we fell victim to those blood-sucking vermin, mosquitoes. We were ambushed. It was all we could do to get out of there in time. They attacked our legs, arms, neck, face, and feet. We left the garden in disarray, garden trowels abandoned, hoofed it back, and applied cortisone cream to the 50 billion bites we received. And we thought gardening was supposed to be fun. Fast-forward to the next day. We knew our enemy, drafted a plan of attack, and quickly weeded and planted our garden in under 15 minutes. Those varmints still got a taste of us, unfortunately. Good thing we didn’t deplete our supply of cortisone cream the day before. We have zinnias and sunflowers in the planter, peppers, tomatoes, sage, green onions, mint, and basil.

And the after shot!

It will take a few weeks for us to even see the seeds (sage, green onions), but the other plantings seem to be thriving. I even dug up some of the crocus and tulip bulbs which have divided and multiplied. I think it’s safe to say that the anemones are gone or aren’t going to grow, but at least I beat the squirrels to the other bulbs. Ha!

Update: Adam and I successfully completed our first official 5K. I won’t get into the nitty gritty details, but we were both in the top third of our age bracket. It was fun! We plan to do one again one day. Here is a picture of us all sweaty, tired, and hungry.

We've looked better...

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

