“It’s a small world, but I wouldn’t want to have to paint it.” – Steven Wright

Posted on May 18, 2011. Filed under: Home, Newlywed |

My goodness, two blog entries in one week! It must REALLY be the apocalypse! I sure hope not. I’d be very disappointed if those Mayans were completely discredited.

Here I am caught in the throes of paint color selection. It truly is a stressful process. My rational self would say, “Now Meredith, if you don’t like it once you slap it up on the walls, you can always repaint.” However, my husband says, “Now dear, we are not painting a room more than once.” Thanks a lot.

For those of you that are unaware, we are under contract on a house. I’m reluctant to admit this breaking news until we have the deed and keys in hand. I can be superstitious sometimes. Please don’t tell my priest (even though I’m only Catholic by association. I don’t want to rock the boat in case I decide to convert one of these days). And this post is getting very theological. How did that happen when all I intended to talk about was paint?

I plan to post more on the house later. I shouldn’t get ahead of myself and start soliloquizing on its every asset. My pessimistic self would say “Now Meredith, a lot can happen between now and closing.” I have a lot of selfs – nay, selves – that just sounds like elves, weird…

So while I’ve decided it is too early to give you a house tour, it is not too early to pick paint colors. Especially if I’ve only got one shot. Ugh, husbands. I suppose that they’d rather be demolishing bathroom tile and building fences and such. I wish our (future) house didn’t need so much painting. On the plus side, it has all new windows, HVAC, and electrical which are very expensive and unglamorous upgrades. You win some, you lose some. In the wise words of Charlie Sheen, I think we’re winning.

I want to paint 5 rooms. In 3 weeks. Before we move in. The master is pink. Let’s pause and ponder that one… One bedroom is toothpaste green. Another bedroom is Thomas-the-Train-Engine blue. The living room is a slightly lighter shade of Thomas. And the kitchen is yellow. I don’t like yellow walls. I automatically think of jaundice. I love yellow in decorative accessories, but I can’t have it on my walls. Different strokes for different folks, I say.

For the master, I’d like to paint it a pale aqua blue. Our bedding is platinum with hints of blue so it would tie the room in nicely. I think I’ve narrowed it down to Valspar’s Lament Blue seen here. I just have to convince my husband that the color won’t look too washed out. I want to go for that light, airy effect. The living room will be cream with an accent wall in either dark red or navy. That room gets a lot of natural light so it can handle a dark wall. I will probably paint the other bedrooms a neutral taupe or light gray for now. (I guess I’ll be painting these by myself later if I change my mind.) The kitchen is the room that is causing me the most stress because the cabinets are such an odd color. They’ve got this beige-gray thing going on. Therefore, you can’t paint the kitchen beige or gray. It will clash. Also, matching the wall color to the cabinets would be too much of the same. I’m thinking a soft green, but I’m scared. I don’t want it looking like a chalkboard or toothpaste. I don’t want to go too yellow with the green either. I have quite a bit of apple green in the family room. I’m leaning toward this color.

From Martha... Yes friends, I used a Martha Stewart image.

But I can’t commit until I get in the (future) house again and hold swatches up to those cabinets.

Thank goodness for $3 8 oz. paint samples. I imagine they will be my saving grace in a few weeks, and the paint guy at Lowe’s.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to ““It’s a small world, but I wouldn’t want to have to paint it.” – Steven Wright”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

First of all, I love that you blog. You’re hysterical.

Secondly, I have the same conundrum. We aren’t buying, we’re renting, but we got a discount on our rent because I told the realtor I wanted to paint the walls (stupid interior design degree…) so I have an ENTIRE house to paint. 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, kitchen, laundry room… I think I overcommitted.

Hope your paint search is going better than mine… I’m basically bipolar when it comes to what I like!! (Again, I blame the design degree!!) Hope you’re doing well 🙂

[…] if you’ll recall, I talked about paint here and posted some pictures of the contenders for make-overs here. Now that we’ve refreshed our […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

