Dixie Highway Yard Fail

Posted on June 9, 2011. Filed under: Home |

I had a plan to write a lengthy, pictorial, and splendid post about my super successful day at the Dixie Highway Yard Sale with my mother last Friday. But it wasn’t super successful – or even mildly successful. It was an epic fail. We managed to capture a few pictures, but even those aren’t as exciting now as they were then: 1950s parking meters; a motorcycle death-cycle hodgepodge of mangled bicycle parts, pipes, and a car wheel; and a Cutlass that was very close to my grandfather’s most beloved car. There was a side table I fell in love with, but LuLu wouldn’t come off of the price so I walked away cool as a cucumber thinking that would persuade her. It didn’t. I even went back for the thing a few hours later only to abandon it again after Mom and I couldn’t figure out if the table top was made of real wood. It was a sketchy little number and one I didn’t want to pay sixty bucks for if it was a fake.

More or less, this “giant” yard sale was a whole lotta hype for a bunch of second-hand clothes, yard tools, mason jars, old signs, ceramics, etc. If you’re into that, that’s wonderful. This event is for you. I was on a mission to find furniture to furnish our (fingers-crossed) almost-closed-on house. There was hardly any furniture to be had and what was there was not my taste or way too expensive for a yard sale find.

It was a reality check. I’ve read all the Southern Living issues and flea market blogs where people find this amazing buffet for $30, put in some sweat equity, and BA-BOOM: a masterpiece. But how often does that really happen? And can you find things like that all the time when you work 40+ hours a week Monday through Friday? It’s not like I can peruse Craigslist all day at work or scout out weekend garage sales when my apartment needs cleaning and there are a billion other errands to run.

If you are a successful furniture finder and re-habber, please share your secrets and the before and after pictures. And if you happen to find the following items on the side of the road, hit me up:

  1. Round pedestal table for the kitchen – solid wood
  2. Kitchen Chairs – wood, at least 4
  3. Sideboard
  4. 2 nightstands with drawers – they don’t have to match
  5. End table
  6. Coffee table

Last Friday was not the day for me as far as furniture hunting goes, but it was quality time with Mom. We had a blast cruising up and down US Hwy 41 in 90 degree weather. We discussed the future house and all its possibilities from paint colors to a kitchen renovation. All in all, it was a wonderful day. Are there special things you do with your mom? Last year it was wedding planning, this year it’s home planning.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Dixie Highway Yard Fail”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

Diddy, I often wondered about those huge yard sales. Now I know the truth! My mom loves those things and can find all sorts of treasures but she never looks or finds lovely pieces of furniture. I have a feeling you will have better luck when you start looking for used Little Tike stuff! Congrats on the house. Can’t wait to hear more about it. At least you had a wonderful day with your mom. That’s a treasure in itself.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

