The Red BMW Convertible

Posted on June 16, 2011. Filed under: Home |

When I was 8 years old, my life changed forever. You see, it had a purpose. 1994 was the year that Saved by the Bell: Wedding in Las Vegas aired on NBC as a TV movie. Like most girls my age, I was obsessed with the show, loved Zach Morris (I even met him once), and wanted to BE Kelly Kapowski. But when I laid eyes on Lisa Turtle’s red BMW convertible in that TV movie, I knew I had to have one. So at 8 years of age, I began stashing my allowance away, all birthday money, etc. When I was old enough to start baby-sitting, I saved that money too. The dream for the Beemer faded slightly, probably because I understood how unrealistic it was for a little girl to save up for a $60,000 car $10 at a time.

I fondly reminisce about that car because it was the catalyst for my penny-pinching ways. It was the rationale behind opening up a savings account before I reached double digits. That car required one of those little cashbox banks. Mine was pink! Although the desire for my red BMW 325i weakened, all those lusty emotions resurfaced this week when we had to fork over a small fortune for the down payment on our first house.

Don’t misread me. I feel so fortunate and blessed to be able to buy a house and I know that the money I started saving almost two decades ago is serving a wonderful purpose. But I can’t help but get a little misty-eyed and wistful over my BMW. I will never abandon my childhood fantasy. So to you BMW, my pipedream, my far-away love, I will not say goodbye. I will see have you someday.

Image taken from here.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “The Red BMW Convertible”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

Oh my, I certainly remember you desperately wanting that BMW and how you saved for it. I really admired your determination!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

