Just Sign There, and There, and There, and There and There and There…

Posted on June 27, 2011. Filed under: Home, Newlywed, Uncategorized |

When I started writing this blog, I set out to write at least one entry per week. That hasn’t quite happened. Why, you ask? Well there’s this Herculean time-suck called house hunting which results in the abandonment of all that’s dear to you, even your sanity. I haven’t seen as much of my dear friends as I’ve wanted. My parents are quite sick of hearing about ancient furnaces, low-flow plumbing, and shoddy tiles. And not being able to clothes or shoe shop the way I want for summer is a little depressing, but it’s all in the name of home ownership so I’ll quit whining and be grateful.

After visiting over 30 houses in person and looking at hundreds online, we have found our first home! Can I get a “woot woot”? Thank you. It’s perfect for us. It meets Adam’s criteria of having a big yard and a few projects. It meets my criteria because it won’t be an eternal construction zone, it looks pretty, and there are MULTIPLE (gasp!) walk-in closets. It meets a lot of our shared criteria because the price was WAY right, the location is fantastic, the layout is functional (Which you will discover is not a guarantee in a house. We saw some pretty weird floor plans). There’s a two-car garage. It is within walking distance of great parks (yes, plural). And it’s proximity to shopping and the interstate is hard to beat.

Here are a few pictures of our lovely house. There’s a lot that we plan to do, but we don’t want to make any major changes until we’ve lived in it awhile. I’m sure I will chronicle our home improvement adventures here. But for now, look at the house that we got in all its closing day glory.

The front of the house

 

Entry way. The tile is not my favorite.

Guest Bedroom - pretty blue, huh?

Master Bedroom in Pink!

the Hall bathroom. It screams "make me over!"

Spacious kitchen we plan to remodel down the road

Only one end of the family room. We're excited about this room!

Brand New Deck

HUGE backyard!

Ivy in the backyard. Removing this is on the to-do list. MAJOR project!

I took these pictures right after we gained possession of the house. I wanted to capture all the “before” shots I could: the paint colors, the “retro bathrooms with original tiles” (You’ll hear that a lot when looking at older homes. Translation: ugly, outdated bathrooms), the 1970s entryway tile which is fairly new (EW!), the very functional and large kitchen, the brand-new deck, the stellar back yard, the not-so-stellar front yard… Well, you can see it for yourself. I will note that I found Jesus in that entryway tile. Seriously, His face is there. Now I’ll feel a little bad about ripping it out of there.

The bathrooms, the paint, and the entry tile don’t scare us – well except for that face. We are very excited about making design decisions that will turn this house into our home. Plus, we consider ourselves to be pretty handy since we are the spawn of incredibly handy parents. You inherit handiness, right? I’ve always thought so.

So this is our house. We are so excited. We’ve already started to clean, paint, and tackle the yard. We hope to have a big party in the next month regardless of how the inside of the house looks. We’re envisioning something casual in the backyard since the house will be pretty chaotic for a while. I see Bocce Ball, barbecue, iced down beers, and a long table full of people we love. And you get to use the Pepto bathroom. Perfect.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Just Sign There, and There, and There, and There and There and There…”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

LOVE the update! I really hope I get the chance to see it while I am in town! I’m sure you and Adam will have it looking like “your” home in a matter of no time!

[…] recall, I talked about paint here and posted some pictures of the contenders for make-overs here. Now that we’ve refreshed our memory on the before shots, let’s take a look at the before and […]

[…] June – closed on our house and started the pre move-in renovations: painting, blinds, and some deep […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

