My 25th Berfday

Posted on August 2, 2011. Filed under: Food and Beverage, Home, Newlywed, Wellness |

My fantastic husband threw me a 25th birthday party in our new backyard last weekend. Never mind that we only moved in two weeks before and the inside of the house looks like the worst kind of chaos you’ve ever seen. We still wanted to have our nearest and dearest over so we could break-in the backyard. And our friends aren’t the stuffy type that would turn their noses up at a bunch of cardboard boxes and bubble wrap in our living room. Unfortunately, we don’t have any pictures of the party. I was too busy wearing my b-day tiara and having fun to snap photos.

We kept it pretty casual. Beverages were beer, sodas, water, and spiked lemonade. For food, we had grilled pork tenderloin, this amazing mac ‘n cheese from Bon Appetit, and … we also went and got a Bocce Ball set so we could have fun and GAMES. We know how to party! My parents also came for the shindig, providing much of the meal and the cake and the hands-on help that is necessary when you have 20 people over at the same time.

I love having casual get togethers with friends and family where you can visit for as long as you want, spread out, eat, drink, laugh, and there isn’t a bill at the end of the night. We are so blessed to have such great friends and family nearby. We know that there’s always someone to listen, help out with something, pick us up if we’re stranded, etc. Thanks, friends. Thanks for coming to my partay. Adam deserves all my hugs and kisses for such a special day. He’s pretty awesome. I’m glad you’re mine.

Oh yeah. Adam gave me this shiny, new toy for my 25th.

my hybrid bicycle. it goes real fast

It’s sweet. And mommy and daddy gave me a sewing machine. This one to be exact.

it sews and embroiders and has an lcd touch screen. i just need to figure out how to thread the needle... among other things.

And mommy and daddy-in-law gave me a very generous gift card to DSW. It will be used soon. Shoes are my weakness.

I’m sure I’ll let you know how the sewing goes. I’m excited to see what I can do with my snazzy machine! I’m hoping I can sew some panel curtains and throw pillow covers. If you’re nice, I may embroider a kitty on a tote bag for you.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “My 25th Berfday”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

There’s something about a cute bike, isn’t there? I just found your blog while floating around on wordpress & couldn’t help but check it out!

Also, I’m a little jealous of your sewing machine. I know I should be learning to sew, but just haven’t. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

[…] July – went to a wedding, moved into our house, celebrated my 25th birthday and had about 20 friends over to our empty and box-ridden home, I went to Austin, TX for a […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

