Tickled Pink

Posted on August 19, 2011. Filed under: Home |

I thought I’d be back this week with a post about a little project I’ve been working on inspired by Pinterest. It’s not finished yet. Well, my part is done. I’m still persuading Adam that hanging almost a dozen square objects in a grid on our wall is time well-spent after working on his feet for 9+ hours. I’d do it myself, but I don’t think he trusts me to get it right and he’d rather not have a bunch of extra holes in our solid wood paneling. He’s so unreasonable. (that was sarcasm.) I still love him though. Adam made me a promise last week that he would hang at least one thing a night for me. And he’s kept it. He’s a keeper. But this promise is slowly morphing into hanging any darn thing he can find before he has to hang my little project. I do understand his reluctance. It may take him about an hour of precious time to hang a bunch of square boards. That’s not very exciting or relaxing. I hope to be back in a few days with all the details. I know you’re dying to find out what I’ve been up to. Right…

On to more finished matters… In case you don’t remember, our hall bath looked like this when we moved in:

Soothing, right? They say that pink induces sleep. In fact, some athletic organizations paint the visitor’s locker room pink. That’s playing dirty, I say. And that’s probably not news to most of you, but I stopped playing organized sports when I was 10 years old.

So our hall bath is pretty horrendous. Some people actually like it. Crazy, huh? My dad pointed out that all of the tiles and grout are in great condition, especially for ca. 1964, and that we should reconsider demolishing this space because there is nothing wrong with it. Ha! While he does have a point, it has wrong written all over it. In pink.

We’re not doing any major projects anytime soon though. We’d like to finish unpacking and settle in. Also, living in our house for a few months so we can actually experience what we may need in a redesign project sounds like a good idea.

A couple of weeks ago, we had about 20 people over for my 25th birthday party. We’d only been in the house for 2 weeks, so there were still a lot of boxes to be unpacked, pictures to be hung, etc. I knew that I wanted to do something with our hall bath since our guests would be using it. But what do you do to improve its looks without a sledgehammer, a crowbar, and some moolah? Well if you can’t fight ‘em, join ‘em!

This mini-makeover cost us $0. Yep. I’m awesome. I already had the girly shower curtain and the polka-dot towels from my post-college, pre-marriage life. The bath mat and trash bin are from college. I had the artwork on my dresser, but decided the vanity in here needed a little sumpin’, sumpin’. And the guest towels on the counter were a wedding present. Yes, it’s girly. Adam hated it at first. I still don’t think he’s too fond of it. But embracing the pink and tempering it with some lime green seemed like the best strategy. I wasn’t alone in my thinking either. There were plenty of party guests, mostly women, who told me what a good job I did and that it didn’t look near as bad as the pictures they’d seen when we first moved in. A couple of people actually squealed about how cute it was!

So there you go. There are cheap ways to make an ugly space look better. There are also expensive ways too. We plan to avoid the expensive stuff for awhile. Well, except for this fall when we have some major yard overhauling to do.

Guess what? My handsome and talented husband is going to be writing a post in the near future. This blog is titled the Newlywed Narrative afterall. The other newlywed should be featured. So, stay tuned. I have no idea what he’s going to write about. Probably some manly stuff like re-wiring outlets, installing light fixtures, or fixing our garbage disposal for the umpteenth time. I hope he doesn’t write about the garbage disposal, unless it involves chucking it out the window.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Tickled Pink”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

Can’t wait to help with the yard work!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

