Art d’Amour

Posted on September 8, 2011. Filed under: Home |

Inspired by Pinterest, I decided to make these scrapbook paper wall tiles. There are a billion different versions on Pinterest. Some people use wallpaper, fabric, or pretty paper.

Some people frame them too. I decided to mimic this version more closely than the others because I thought it would complement our den better.

I won’t get into all the gory details because it was someone else’s idea and they already blogged about it. Please check it out if you’re interested. I will say where I changed it up a bit.

  • My tiles weren’t exact squares. Boards don’t really measure up if you know what I mean. They were supposed to be 12 x 12 tiles, but they were more like 12 x 11 tiles. It’s okay. You can’t tell with the naked eye.
  • Instead of espresso paint, I used red oak stain we had on hand. It was free, but stain is stinky.
  • I had to cut my paper to fit since the wood wasn’t square. I used a craft knife (already had) and a cutting mat (already had)
  • I used craft spray adhesive – $7 at Michaels
  • I lightly sanded the edges of the paper once they were attached to the boards. I tried my best not to lift the stain up.
  • I used a wet tea bag to brown the edges of the paper instead of distressing ink. This was a bad idea. It didn’t look right and the paper started curling up. Bummer. Luckily, only 3 pieces of paper had to be replaced. So I decided not to distress anything. It was too stressful. Ha. ha…
  • As you can see below, my color scheme was apple green, yellow, and turquoise.

I followed the directions for the rest of it.

We are still in the process of unpacking and decorating, but our priorities are to “finish” the spaces we live in the most. I really don’t like having big pieces of furniture in a room if they aren’t anchored by something on the wall above them. So the loveseat was in need of some art, hence the title of this post.

But here are the tiles in all their glory. We already had the green pillar candles and holders on hand. Nice touch, right?

I’m super happy about the way this turned out. In all, it cost about $30 for a pretty large piece of artwork. Time spent, including the errands, was about 5 to 6 hours. That seems like a lot. However, I put in a few hours after work every night, balancing craft time with husband time with a little Bachelorette TV with watering the plants with finishing the Twilight Eclipse movie (which is horrible btw), etc. If I had a day off from work with no distractions, this would be a 3 or 4 hour project.

I know this isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. Right, mom? But I enjoyed making the tiles and I’m pretty happy with the way they turned out. Plus, if I get sick of them, I’ll sleep easy knowing they only cost $30.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Art d’Amour”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

[…] My scrapbook paper wall tiles […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

