I Call This Room the Den for a Reason

Posted on October 10, 2011. Filed under: Home, Newlywed |

For our den, I picked the color scheme of apple green, yellow, and tan about a year ago when we moved into our first apartment. I still haven’t fallen in love with it, so I decided to incorporate turquoise for a cool (as in not warm) element. Here are some rooms off of Pinterest with similar color schemes:

from Domino

Not sure where this is from, but I love the rug

So far, I really like it. I have my doubts occasionally. It’s a lot of warring bright colors, I know, but I’m being careful by using them in accents like throw pillows, wall art, curtains, etc. I thought these tiles would be a great way to bring that color into the room. I plan to bring in some throw pillows and I also bought some little friends about a month ago.

Petey

Harley

Meet Petey and Harley. You should have seen Adam’s face when I pulled Petey out of that HomeGoods sack. I’ve never seen his eyes roll that far around in their sockets. My question to all of you is, “is life worth living without some birds?” And though he may not appreciate this idiom, Petey killed two birds with one stone: he was a turquoise element I needed and he was a bird. I love ceramic birds.

By the time I brought Harley home a few weeks later, Adam was not surprised. I got Harley from an antiques shop in Atlanta that’s closing its doors. It was a sweet deal! I love horses – even green ones. And then I found this guy on zgallerie and I feel like I scored!

I am so trendy! They want 100 buckaroos for this stallion and he’s a boring gray. Plus he’s veiny. Doesn’t he look like he could be Harley’s dull, nerdy, older brother? I snagged Harls for a fraction of the price and he fits in nicely in our zoo – er, den. Speaking of my love for horses, I salivate every time I see this pin on my pinterest from Ballard Designs.

I wish I could DIY something like that.

My animal friends are living on our mantle and in our built-in bookshelf to the right of our fireplace. I am one of those people that believe too many books on a bookshelf makes for a boring design visual. You have to have a variation of things: books, boxes, bowls, picture frames, and ceramic animals (fo’ sho’). Just watch Emily Henderson on HGTV. She’s a genius at staging shelves. Although she usually crams too much stuff on there to suit even my cluttered taste. Getting our shelf configuration just right will take some time, but I’m having fun with it. I needed some yeller stuff, hence Adam’s growing collection of National Geographics. The bookcase could use some metallic things that have interesting texture to them.  It is still a work in progress. But here’s what we have so far. I apologize for the bad lighting. Getting new light fixtures in this room is on the to-do list.

And there is our wedding album almost a year later! Hooray! It’s fantastic.

Up next – get ready for all you ever wanted to know about curtains: buying them and making them!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “I Call This Room the Den for a Reason”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

[…] For the den, it was a different story. I wanted some yellow and white patterned panel curtains. You can check out the color palette we’re going for here. […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

