Envelope Throw Pillow Covers

Posted on November 14, 2011. Filed under: Hobbies, Home |

Just in case you didn’t take me seriously when I said I’ve been getting my craft on lately, here’s further proof…

I ordered extra curtain fabric for the den curtains so I could make throw pillow covers. I probably have enough fabric left to dress all the von Trapp children. Well, that’s Adam’s plan for the curtains once we get sick of them. I just hope he doesn’t want me to pop out 7 little Austrian kids. Not gonna happen – the 7 kids part or the Austrian part.

I told myself that if I could make 6 fully lined curtain panels with zero experience, throw pillow covers would be a cinch. And they were. If you know how to sew a straight stitch on a sewing machine, you can do this.

  1. Measure your pillow form. I had 2 pillows that were 18” x 18”. Add 1” to the length and to the width for seam allowances. For me this equaled 19” x 19”
  2. Calculate measurements for your back pieces by using the same width above. For length, multiply the length of the pillow by ¾ + ½” for seam allowance. My pillow length is 18” x ¾ = 13.5” + ½” = 14”.
  3. Cut out your fabric. 1 square piece (19” x 19”) and 2 rectangle back pieces (19” x 14”) per pillow. If you have patterned fabric, make sure you’re making your cuts appropriately – i.e. not sideways. My fabric had these large damask pineapple thingies. Thankfully, I realized BEFORE I started cutting that the front piece of the pillows should have the pineapple centered on the finished pillow. For the back, it didn’t matter as long as the fabric was facing the right direction.
  4. Line up your back pieces the way you want them over your pillow. For one of them, you will be sewing a hemline on the bottom. For the other, the hemline will be at the top. Pin your hemlines for both back pieces at ½” and press. Pin and press again at 1”.
  5. Sew your hemlines on the back pieces with a straight stitch.
  6. With your front piece face up and with the print in the right direction, lay your back pieces face down on top of the square fabric with their hemlines in the middle. If you want the top part of the back to be the outside part of the envelope, lay it down first. Line up the sides of the first back piece and pin. Remember to keep wrong sides out, right sides in, and that your fabric is facing the right direction.
  7. Sew first back piece to front of pillow case with a ½” seam allowance remembering to reverse stitch when you start and stop.
  8. Line up the sides of the second back piece – it will overlap the first back piece – and pin.
  9. Sew the second back piece to the front of the pillow case with a ½” seam allowance.
  10. Flip the pillow case right side out and insert pillow form!

The back side of the pillow

Easy, peasy. This little project took about an hour and a half. It could probably go quicker, but I was watching TV too.

I didn’t pre-shrink the fabric this time. I was impatient and wanted to get these bad boys made. I plan to scotch guard them. If anything gets past that, they are small enough to hand wash in cold water.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Envelope Throw Pillow Covers”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

[…] did yard work. I made throw pillows. I made a table runner and a wreath. We went on an anniversary trip. I switched clothes out of […]

[…] Target, and the red and floral ones are homemade. See my method for envelope throw pillow covers here. If you want to add buttons, multiply the “back” pieces by 1/2 instead of 3/4 in the […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

