Ombre, Hombre

Posted on November 16, 2011. Filed under: Hobbies, Home |

Jackson Pollock, eat your heart out. There’s a new girl in town. And she is a virtuoso.

A few Sundays ago I got my paint on and created this masterpiece:

Yeah. I did that. Woo to the hoo. And I don’t consider myself very artistic. Translation: It wasn’t too hard.

So here we go with the instructions…

Materials:

  1. Canvas
  2. Paint Brush
  3. Drop cloth
  4. Cup of water
  5. Paint tray – I used a disposable plate
  6. 2 colors of paint – one light and one dark, preferably in the same color family

Method:

  1. Mix a medium paint (for the middle) by adding a little of the dark paint to some of your light paint. Play with it until you get your desired color. (Note: it’s always easier to add dark to light, not light to dark)
  2. Dip your dry brush into the lightest color and start painting the top third of the canvas, starting at 1/3 of the way down and blending the paint upward, allowing it to gradually lighten.
  3. Dip your brush into a teeny, tiny bit of water, dab it off, and use it to pull paint up to the top of the canvas. This will dilute the color toward the top, creating a nice fade out effect.
  4. Dip your brush into the middle color and start painting in left to right strokes 1/3 of the way up the canvas (the middle), blending upward. You will overlap some of color 1.
  5. Dip your brush into the darkest color and start at the bottom of the canvas working up into the middle section.

Some other helpful tips:

  1. Use less paint the further up you go in each section.
  2. A little goes a long way when it comes to water. Damp bristles should suffice, not dripping wet.
  3. Paint the sides of your canvas for a finished look. You can carry the painting around to the sides or paint all the sides your darkest color.
  4. Don’t overwork the paint. Eventually, the paint will lift off the canvas if you keep working it. It cannot be manipulated as well when it dries.
  5. Left to right strokes all the way from side to side.
  6. You may need to go back to another color and add it in to improve your blend in between sections.

Obviously, there is an ombre craze going on out there. If you don’t believe me, here’s some proof:

image from the Beauty Department

I have been affected by the ombre, hombre. I just had to have something ombre. I cannot commit my lovely lady locks yet. Maybe I’m too old-fashioned since I still believe that your roots showing is trashy – even if it is “so HOT right now!” according to my hair stylist. So I went for some ombre in the form of home décor. I was able to make this in less than an hour for about 30 buckaroos. Buying a piece of artwork this big would be a few hundred dollars. Yay me! Dyeing my hair a la ombre wouldn’t be cheap and could be emotionally damaging as well. I asked Adam to hang my ombre art in our master bedroom. I think it’s just what this blank wall needs.

.

Do note our new pillow acquisitions: two Euro pillows and a gray feathery pillow. Doesn’t it look comfy?

Update: Milk & Honey Home are also digging the Ombre craze! I officially feel cool and justified in my love for ombre.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Ombre, Hombre”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

awesome! I love your bedspread by the way! where is it from??

Thanks! It’s Macy’s Hotel Collection Rings. I think they are discontinuing it, so the close-out sale is a really good deal. Still expensive, but really nice bedding that we plan to keep a while.

ooh! I love the hotel collection from macy’s! 🙂 thanks!

[…] chronicled all the improvements we’ve made to the room: rug, curtains, DIY painting. We also bought new lampshades and some more pillows for the bed despite Adam’s protests. What […]

[…] runner and a wreath. We went on an anniversary trip. I switched clothes out of closets. I painted a masterpiece. I went to Nashville with my girls and played a part in helping my big bro propose to his […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

