Laundry Room Re-Do

Posted on December 22, 2011. Filed under: Home |

I pointed out in a recent blog entry that we are in planning mode around here for some of our bigger projects. I’ve realized that I tend to write about projects after they’ve been completed and I’ve failed at sharing what things look like at present for most of our house. So here is one of the project areas that’s at the top of the list.

Gross.

Our laundry situation is less than ideal and I’m not ashamed to admit it. It’s the one thing I really do NOT like about our house, but a girl can’t have everything, can she? These pictures make it look even more depressing.

We don’t really have a laundry room, per se. Our laundry area is in the unfinished basement near the water heater, furnace, and all those other scary household things that go bump in the night. I knew from the get-go I wasn’t going to like it. Who wants to trek up and down 3 half flights of stairs to do laundry? Not me. But I do it because, well, we have to have clean clothes and Adam usually ruins stuff when he does laundry. True story. It happened. At least twice.

How does that saying go? If life gives you a crummy laundry room, make it less crummy? Yeah, that sounds right. I knew I was going to want to improve this space, but I didn’t want to invest any time or money into it until I lived and worked in it for a few months. That way, I’d be sure to know what I needed.

When we moved in, I put down that cheap rug that we already had (IKEA) in front of the washer and dryer so my feet wouldn’t have to touch the cold concrete floor. The previous homeowners left some shelves, so I organized all the laundry and cleaning supplies on those. That was about it. Pretty underwhelming.

After 5 months and approximately 100 loads of laundry, I have a handle on what I want. And I’ve included a very professional mock-up for your viewing pleasure.

Not quite to scale. Those pendant lights would be ginormous.

I would like a wardrobe with doors to hang clothes that need to ironed (right now they are wadded up in a bin on the floor); a shelf between the washer and dryer for detergent, stain remover, fabric softener, et. al.; an expandable drying rack above the shelf; a hamper for dry cleaning under the sink; a work sink; and painting the wall behind the appliances a rich accent color like a teal or purple with one of those laundry definition decals. None of these shelving units I’m talking about are that expensive. I’m talking fiber board, manufactured stuff that’s pretty cheap. It’s a laundry room. If I’m ever going to try to keep up with the Joneses, it’s not going to be in my laundry room. Also, I want to add some improved lighting. It’s very hard to see down here.

Some of you are thinking I’m putting lipstick on a pig. Maybe I am. Only time will tell. We might decide to add some dummy walls around the washer and dryer if it looks totally weird.

Here are some pictures I’ve culled for inspiration:

from www.decorpad.com

from Pinterest

from tip junkie

from a glimpse of the girl next door

I know our laundry area could never look like those. A) we don’t get much natural light down there, and B) we have cinderblock walls with lots of pipes. But a girl can try!

I’ve shared my vision with Adam and he’s agreed to all points except the painted wall with a decal. This is his “man area”, his “workshop”, and he will not have a purple or teal wall in its midst unless he builds me some walls around the washer and dryer. So I told him that painting the wall would be phase 2 of the project. (I fully intend to convince him that it’s the way to go before we get to phase 2.)

Sadly, the laundry room makeover will have to wait until 2012. We’ve got those Christmas presents and we’re not buying anything big for the house until after the first of the year. I’ll keep everyone posted on the slow progress. I’ve already picked out a wardrobe unit from IKEA so there is some very slow progress.

Fun fact: we have an electric hook-up for the dryer and a gas hook-up. Crazy, huh? I’d never seen a gas hook-up for a dryer before. I was born and raised in the south and I grew up in a house built in the 1980s. Such things are foreign to me.

I’m taking some time off from the blog for the holidays! Everyone stay safe and eat lots of cookies. I’ll be back in 2012!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

