Purple Hall Walls

Posted on April 19, 2012. Filed under: Home |

Guess what we discovered on the final walk-through of our house 48-hours before closing (and nearly a year ago)? Don’t worry. It wasn’t Holmes on Homes worthy. There was no mold, no clogged plumbing, no foundation cracks, no “eh’s?” or “ruffs” or “ooots”. (Just a little Canadian humor for ‘ya. Am I the only one that notices that on HGTV?) But it was pretty ghastly.

Do you see it? How about a few more pictures?

How about this for comparison?

Um… yeah… Purple Hall Walls. They may be worse than Purple People Eaters. At least there’s a catchy little song for the monsters that brings me back. The previous homeowners decided to paint E.V.E.R.Y hall this color. That’s 3 halls, folks: basement, main, and upstairs. Ohhh la la. On a day in our house, we noticed that the halls fluctuated from lavender gray to puce to garish pink. Yum. I know everyone dreams of puce walls.

But after we went on a painting marathon of 3.5 rooms (closets get halfsies) in 5 days, we were too tired to even attempt to cover the purple abomination. That’s tired. Also, I knew that painting the halls before move-in day could be counter-productive since they would get scuffed. Therefore, we waited to tackle the Purple Hall Walls until after we moved in and got settled. Plus, this intimidated us slightly:

I told Adam we could harness him in and I’d be his belayer. I was certified given a nod of approval from an activities director not long ago 10 years ago when I was a camp counselor. Yes, they thought my 100 pound, 15-year-old self could belay my campers: 150+ pound teenage boys. I had to anchor myself to a railroad tie. That was bolted into the ground. See, don’t send your kids to camp. I might accidentally kill them.

Predictably, Adam declined my generous offer and used his handy combination ladder (that he LOVES) to get to that hard-to-reach place for cutting-in. I used the step ladder at the top of the stairs and a telescoping pole to roll. It was a little spooky.

Our fear of that wall wasn’t the only thing that stopped us. In the 9 months we’ve had the house, every other project that was on our list seemed way more appealing. I painted the living room, started stenciling it, painted the kitchen pantry, made a bajillion things like curtains and throw pillows and table runners and wreaths. I did not want to paint these halls. We raked leaves, cleaned gutters, chopped up bushes, planted flowers, seeded for grass, ripped out ivy. But we ignored the purple hall walls…

So after a very long time here is the finished product. Let’s not ignore the fact that we took our time here. I painted the entryway hall Labor Day Weekend. We painted the basement hall before Thanksgiving, and we finished the upstairs hall in March. There was a lot of cutting in and edging involved. Halls are known for those pesky doorways. But we tackled the project one hallway at a time.

The halls are Behr’s Parchment in eggshell. They are the same color as the living room. You won’t believe how much lighter the house is with crisp cream paint versus dingy grayish purple. During the day, I can see in the upstairs hallway without having to turn a light on! Everything flows nicely since the halls all connect with one another and the main hallway opens into the living room.

We keep asking ourselves how we didn’t notice the Purple Hall Walls until the last minute? I guess we were blinded by our excitement at being homeowners.

It’s Scheffy! Isn’t he lookin’ good?

We plan to take down the attic fan with its louvered doors and spray paint all of it white instead of this ugly, doo-doo brown. Light fixtures will get switched out eventually too.

I’ll take you out with some sangin’. Let’s reminisce together by checking out this clip!

It was a one-eyed, one-horned, flying Purple People Eater

A one-eyed, one-horned, flying Purple People Eater

It sure looks strange to me

I said, “Mr. Purple People Eater, what’s your line?”

He said, “eating purple people and it sure is fine

But that’s not the reason that I came to land

I wanna get a job in a rock ‘n roll band.”

Well, bless my soul rock ‘n roll flying’ purple people eater

Pigeon-toed under-growed flyin’ purple people eater

one-eyed one-horned it was a people eater

What a sight to see

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Purple Hall Walls”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

[…] completely blind to when you fall in love with your future home. Just like we didn’t notice our purple hall walls until the final walk-through (we’d already seen the house 3 times at this point, one of them […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

