Moving Up

Posted on December 17, 2012. Filed under: Real World |

I love blogging, but I haven’t been such a great blogger in 2012. This year has been pretty insane with work and a new puppy. The last few months at work have been all-consuming and I was spending much of my free time trying to find another job. Well, three months, five interviews, and one breakfast later, I got the job and started last Monday!

It’s too early to tell what my new job will be like, but I know it will be demanding. The good thing is that I already feel much more satisfied. The work is rewarding, everyone I’ve met has been so nice, and my office is on a pretty quiet hall.

There is a trust at my new job that I haven’t had for some time. I have two bosses and they both seem to share the same work philosophy: no time clocks, just get your job done and we trust you to do it. Awesome.

I loved my 4 years at my old job. I learned so much there and was able to surround myself with a great arts and culture scene. However, in recent months the organization started to face the consequences of its financial problems, morale was affected, and I began to realize that my opportunities for advancement were nonexistent. There were many other things, but I’m not going to get into them. I am grateful for my time there, but now that I’m out and on the other side I know I made the right decision.

Five days in and the new job is going well. It won’t be an easy job, but the people I’m working with are fantastic, smart and influential. The benefits are great and I’m a part of a larger community of education, social activities, and entertainment where I already feel like I belong.

Please be patient with me on the blog as I navigate new waters and figure out how everything will balance.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

