The Pretty Things of Spring

Posted on March 27, 2013. Filed under: Gardening |

Despite the pollen, I love spring. It is a close second to autumn as my favorite season. I once wrote about how exciting spring is in a new house. To see pale green stalks shooting out of the still wintry ground, deep purple crocuses opening up, that gangly and mysterious tree producing beautiful dogwood blooms, it’s a wonderful discovery. Maybe I’m turning into a garden nerd (it must be my advancing age), but I love being surprised by the beauty of the outdoors in the spring. Now that we’ve been in our house for two years, we are starting to see the literal fruits and blooms of our labor in our slowly changing yard. There’s something so rewarding about gardening and yard work. The blood, sweat, dirt, blisters, and back aches result in tangible, touchable, odorous progress. Sometimes that odor is my smelly husband or my wet dog after a Saturday well-spent in the backyard. Other times, it is the more pleasant, sweet aroma of gardenias, the freesia-like smell of little tea olive blooms, or the citrusy-scent of winter daphne. Suffice it to say, I love spring. And it feels great to finally feel proud of what we’ve accomplished in our yard through the budding of spring.

P1020844

The tea olives are growing, growing, growing! All that rusty foliage is new. And if you look closely you will see little white blossoms. They smell so delicious.

P1020843

P1020840

The transplanted hydrangeas are doing well so far. I was most nervous about these guys because I love them dearly and they are rather delicate. Leaf buds are popping up all the time. I love to check on them and watch them unfurl little by little each day. It’s amazing how a plant can go from a dormant pile of wonky sticks to an active shrub with leaves in what seems like a blink of the eye.

P1020834

The snow ball bush is a slight point of contention between Adam and I. We had no idea what it was until we saw the blooms last May/June, but I asked Adam to wait a full year to see if it would reveal itself before he chopped it down. (In 2011, it had already bloomed out by the time we moved in in July.) Once I discovered what it was, it was love at first bloom. I love this thing. It’s gorgeous. But it looks a little wild and unruly. It will take a few years for me to tame it into submission much to Adam’s dismay. You are not supposed to cut more than 1/3 back per year, but we’re getting there. It will always look a little wild anyway. I don’t care. It’s beeyootiful. You can see the baby blooms now. They are pale green, itty bitty and all over the bush. It’s going to be spectacular.

P1020830

P1020831

P1020833

These are my new daffodils under my lovely dogwood.

P1020845

P1020846P1020847

The new tulips are starting to come out of the ground. I may dig up all the tulip bulbs and put them in the freezer or fridge this winter. Atlanta winters are not getting cold enough for them to re-bloom. Anyone have any experience with this or suggestions?

My ferns! P1020828

I didn’t think I could get excited over ferns until I saw the baby fiddleheads. They are so cute, awkward, and alien-like.

P1020827

In my naiveté, I assumed you only got fiddleheads with fiddlehead ferns. Not so. These are autumn ferns and look at those little ET fingers poking through!

P1020822

They are not as coiled as your traditional fiddlehead, but they are little baby fern fronds and will slowly uncoil to be big, adult fern fronds.

P1020826

That’s early spring in our front yard. I’ll be back in a few weeks with pictures of everything in full bloom. I cannot wait!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

