Overhaulin’

Posted on May 22, 2013. Filed under: Home |

I have a confession to make. Well a few confessions, I suppose.

I am extremely embarrassed by the state of our master bathroom.

P1020931

P1020932

And it’s not its teeny weeny size that makes me blush. I am a believer that good things come in small packages:

tiffanysImage courtesy of Tiffanys

Mason

mrbean

Image courtesy of http://www.worldcarfans.com

I am ashamed about the dirt and grime and God-knows-what-else that accumulated in here for years before we called this place home.

P1020927

P1020926

Somebody did not like cleaning. Somebody also did not lay the floor tile right or grout correctly or seal sufficiently or nothing. That’s right, I threw out the double negative. This bathroom gets me going. Look at the gunk stuck between the shower tiles! It doesn’t help that we live in Atlanta, with sticky humidity 8 months out of the year. Moisture problemos. Ew.

P1020816

That is the exhaust fan. Do you see all that dust build-up? I removed the cover to clean it and this is what I found.

What is WRONG with people???

Bleeeeech!

I clean this bathroom every week. I get on my hands and knees with harsh chemicals, a toothbrush, and elbow grease. It doesn’t matter. This shower has passed the point of no return with gunky mildew and possibly mold (though I haven’t found any of that yet, I wouldn’t be surprised if it were hiding).

P1020930

There are mineral deposits all over the shower doors. I spent over an hour one day on one side of one door trying to get it all off. It didn’t work and I gave up.

We also have this awkward gap between the vanity and the shower that only serves to collect dirt and grime:

P1020929

Which leads me to my next confession… Since I cannot get the grime off the doors and I cannot get the cement-like gunk off of the shower floor, I do not waste my time deep-cleaning in here. I know. I’m hanging my head low. Don’t get me wrong. I clean in here every week with disinfectant and scrub brushes, but I rarely pull out the big guns. I don’t clean the shower doors except for a quick wipe down. It’s simply not worth it. The only thing that will remove this crud is a jackhammer. I accepted that fact a long time ago. And it’s another reason I don’t bust my tush to thoroughly clean in here. I know this bathroom will be nothing but a memory very soon. I pray that’s the case. Do you hear me, God?

Whew. I feel better now that I got that off my chest. I can’t believe I confessed all of that. And yes, we shower in there every day. I sleep at night knowing that the surface of the gunk has been cleaned.

We’ve been pinching our pennies and doing our research. We’ve called in contractors and visited tile stores. I’m happy to report that this bathroom is about to get OVERHAULED! I will blog about it here – all our misadventures, our successes, and the demolition of Nasty McShowerson. So hold on to your Jockey shorts, this is going to be an adventure!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Overhaulin’”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

[…] the past few months we’ve called in some contractors to assess our bathroom situation. To refresh your memory, we have a half bath downstairs that is now in good shape after a few […]

[…] on our big girl and boy panties, swallowed our fear, grabbed our hammers, and tore it all up in our master bathroom. Blue bathroom, meet your […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

