Bathroom Smorgasbord

Posted on June 25, 2013. Filed under: Home, Master Bath Remodel |

I admit that I’m slightly compulsive. I’d like to think that I like to keep busy rather than I’m a compulsive freak. I find a project to focus on and pour all of my energy into that whether it’s planning a trip, training a puppy, whipping up some curtains, launching an exercise plan, or plotting our next home renovation project.

As you know, we’ve been plotting and planning and crunching numbers and tile shopping. I’ve been pinning like crazy, spending a lot of my leisure time on Pinterest or Houzz or Google images trying to get visuals for what exactly we want.

I’m driving the design train here but I run everything by Adam. He has veto power. After a few weeks of research and window shopping, I think we have a good idea of design aesthetic for both bathrooms. Yes, we’re redoing both of them, but not at once. We’d prefer to shower in our own home and not at the YMCA down the street. In my dreams, I’d like to finish both bathroom remodels by the first week of December. It’s an unrealistic goal, but it sure would be nice. We’ll see how it goes.

So without further ado here is the mood board for the first victim, the master bathroom…

Master:

moodboard

  1. Carrara Marble shower surround and frameless doors
  2. Cultured marble shower pan
  3. Biltmore Niles Polished Marble Basket weave floor tile (Tile Shop)
  4. Valspar Halcyon Blue paint or similar
  5. Home Decorators Collection Hampton Bay 28” W vanity (The Home Depot) or similar
  6. Sonoma Recessed Medicine Cabinet  or similar (Pottery Barn)
  7. ByGone Classic 3-Light Bath Light (Shades of Light)
  8. Moen Weymouth Fixtures in Brushed Nickel
  9. Moen Weymouth Fixtures in Brushed Nickel
  10. Concealed Door Storage (Grandin Road)

Our plan in here is to do basket weave floors (they make me salivate), pale gray walls, Carrara marble subway tile up the wall behind the sink, retro-inspired fixtures, gray or white vanity, white quartz countertop, frameless shower doors, large Carrara rectangles for the shower walls, recessed shelving over the toilet, new vanity light, and new towel racks and hooks. Of course, we’re not married to the items above but they give us a good idea of the aesthetic we’re shooting for.

What do you think? I’ve talked myself off the ledge so many times about using marble in a bathroom, but I cannot walk away from it. I want a gray, blue/seafoam color scheme in here and faux marble tiles don’t cut it for me. Everyone I’ve talked to say the new sealers are way better than they used to be, so I’m going to trust.

Anybody have experience with marble in a bathroom?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Bathroom Smorgasbord”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

Love it! The colors are perfect for your house!

[…] my mood board, I used a fixture from Shades of Light which I […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

