It’s Pansy Time

Posted on September 30, 2013. Filed under: Gardening, Home |

We have a very bad neighbor and maybe some raccoons and opossums, that destroyed my mailbox bed this summer.

P1030603

I am none too pleased.

Besides the poop, the dogs dig and scratch and send our pine straw into the street where it gets washed or blown away. They also urinate all over my flowers. There has been so much pee in this spot, that the ammonia has killed my evergreen perennials that are nearly impossible to kill.

P1030602

I’m not a happy homeowner.

I will admit that I let Mason hike his leg on other people’s mailboxes, but never on their flowers. If there are flowers within 6” to 12” of the object he wants to mark, I don’t let him do it. I am a considerate person.

I’m thinking about putting up a sign. I’m that person. I never thought I would be, but when you spend time and money to make your yard look nice and inconsiderate losers ruin it with dog pee I get angry.

Tangent over. For now. I went to the neighborhood Lowes and got mulch instead of pine straw. My logic here is that it’s harder to kick up and won’t wash away as easy.

P1030606

I also got a lot of pansies.

I wanted to get ornamental cabbage, but it’s very late summer/early fall in Georgia and I didn’t want to risk them getting scorched. Maybe I’ll plant those in a few weeks.

After I ripped all the plant carcasses out, I turned the soil and mixed in some compost so the pansies won’t get choked out by red Georgia clay.

Then I planted the pansies.

P1030605

P1030607

Spread the mulch.

P1030609

And watered.

It looks so much better, but anything is an improvement.

I shall cap it off with a sign that features a skull and crossbones or a dog with a giant X through it.

Don’t mess with me. It ain’t right. It’s rude.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “It’s Pansy Time”

RSS Feed for The Newlywed Narrative Comments RSS Feed

Hello! I’ve found someone who’s having the same problem as I with inconsiderate neighbors and their pet urine. I first watched all of my geraniums, shasta daisies, and rabbits ear die from the repetitive urinating on my plants. So I tried an arrangement of conifers but same results. I put an iron painted sign in the bed of a dog “in position” with an X but then someone stole it – There’s one around the corner from me now painted in a different color:(. Then I let the lirope take over but despite it’s formidable tolerance to clay, heat and other plants, the urine just left it big, brown and ugly as it grew and spread. So. I’m in the process of digging up the bed again and am not having much luck searching online for dog urine tolerant plants. How did your solution work? Did the nandinas hold up? Perhaps I will design a faux fire hydrant and surround it with pea pebble to become the dog watering station!

Hi Melanie,

Sorry it took me so long to respond. I’ve found that putting wood chips down instead of pinestraw and planting flowers very close to the curb deters owners and their pets from getting in my flower bed. I’ve also stood in my storm door and given dirty looks that I’m sure were effective! I hope you were able to find a solution!

Meredith


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

